Neon Chevron

As the gang at Sock Madness were keeping us on tender hooks awaiting the official warm up pattern, I decided I would just cast on a pair of my own and hope I could get it done before the actual warm up arrived.  I thought I would make use of some self-patterning yarn, since I won’t have much use for it in the Madness, and I had some particularly fun stuff in my stash I had been looking for a use for.  I thought, I better try something “new to me” while I’m at it, so I went for BellyButtonKnit‘s Scrappie, mainly for it’s short row heel and set to work.

img_7830
Bringing a little brightness to midwinter in Ottawa!

The short-row heel was a neat experience for sure.  I’ll be interested to see how it holds up with no reinforcement of slipped stitches.  Otherwise, this sock just flew off the needles, and was a great one for the busy yarn – but I’ve seen it works well for series of scraps too (hence the name!).  And, as it turns out I finished it the night before the “Official Warm Up” sock pattern arrived.  I’m going to be good and warm for that qualifier!!!

img_7871-1
It’s Lang Jawoll Aktion that’s been aging in my stash for a while, and the grey is, what else, Drops Fabel.  
3 thoughts on “Neon Chevron

Leave a Reply

