Knitterly Dreams

I have dreams.  Goals.  Obsessions.  Ideas.  Projects or patterns I just keep coming back to again and again.  I think about them often.  I plan about them.  I scheme about them.  Yet somehow, I never get to actually knitting them.  Or at least, not yet.  Thought I’d share a few of them with you today, cause they’re always fun for me to think about…

Enrobed Wrap by Amy Herzog

Photo Credit/Copyright Karen Pearson
Photo Credit/Copyright Karen Pearson

I really want to knit ALL the sweaters.  But sweaters are a challenge.  They take a long time.  They lack the relatively instant gratification of socks and smaller projects.  And for me, they almost always take a bit of customization (which this designer fully supports). The Enrobed Wrap is so deeply my style, and it comes from the enlightening book Knit to Flatter.  It’s so lovely.  I WILL KNIT IT ONE DAY.

Happy Colours Blanket by Just Do

017_medium2
Photo Credit/Copyright Just Do

This one is cheating.  It’s not actually knitting.  I had a dalliance with crochet during this convalescent period. It wasn’t actually a lot better than knitting for my hand (holding anything was rough for a while).  In that moment, I found out two things: 1. I’ve gotten better at crochet by ignoring it for several years and 2. this pattern is amazing.  It totally speaks to some happy centre in my brain.  Bright, modern, fun, colourful.  And, it would be a good stashbuster/scrapbuster.

The Joker and The Thief by Melanie Berg

IMG_20150523_135223_medium2
Photo Credit/Copyright Ninapetrina

This shawl is my jam. Gradients.  Pinks.  Greys.  Stripes.  Fun.  It also makes me think of the awesome song by Wolfmother, which is a great song for knitting to, and probably not what the designer was thinking of when they named the shawl.  If I weren’t on a yarn diet with my knitting buddy right now, I’d almost certainly have bought a kit for this, which would be sitting on my shelf, taunting me while my wrist heals.

Those are the big ones dream-wise these days.  And that’s not to say I don’t love the things I’m knitting now.  And that I won’t cast on more socks when the current ones are finished.  Sometimes I’m like the person who does lots of 5k’s while dreaming of marathons. And sometimes I get the marathons done.

Leave a Reply

